When is Enough, Enough?

Sometimes all the deals and bargains can make my brain tired.  I spend hours clipping coupons, reading blogs, scouring flyers, making lists and then get to the store and my kids are cranky or the store is out of what I “need” or I didn’t even need what I “needed” in the first place!  So how do you know when enough is enough?

Here are some suggestions, but I’d love for you to comment and post your own!

  • When your husband is annoyed.  (Notice how this is #1)
  • When you didn’t really “need” the  bargain in the first place
  • When you already have 10 (or even 5 or 3) of the deal in your closet.  — Although, read the end of this post for ideas about what you can do with those items.
  • When your kids are tired, sick, or sick and tired of your deals; don’t drag them around

Too bad I’m still learning each of these.  How about you?  How do you know when enough is enough?

2 Responses

  1. I was just thinking about this yesterday. I was in Rite Aid for over an hour because of a major receipt error. Luckily my baby was at home napping, but I have had similar experiences while she was with me in the store.

    I am still trying to find the balance. I certainly don’t want my child(ren) to grow up thinking that they were less important than the good deal at Rite Aid.

  2. I’ve thought about the same thing. I’ve put into practice a couple of things I’ve read on other blogs. 1. try to keep only a three month supply. When I first started couponing, like most rookies, I did not understand that deals will come around again. Consequently, we have a two year supply of deoderant…still…two years later. Yeah, I went a little overboard. I have learned that there are certain things that we go through really fast (think toilet paper!) so I am constantly looking for deals on those things. 2. I read a blog that suggested limiting oneself to 1 grocery store and 1 drugstore/superstore per week and I try to stick to that. 3. One of the bloggers suggested she takes one night after her children are in bed and hits her drugstore. I tried that once or twice but I like my evenings to chill out and talk to my hubby.

Leave a Reply

