If I was going to buy baby food (and I am…)

UPDATE: The Weis coupon policy states that only 4 duplicate coupons will be doubled in a single transaction. So, I don’t think the deal below will work. I have 11 coupons, so here is how I’m going to play this week’s deal. Without the $5 coupon OYNO (on your next order), the deal is not a lot of money maker, but as you will see, this is still a lot of baby food for the price.

Transaction #1 and 2 will look like this:
Buy 8 2pks @ $.83 each = $6.66
Use 4 $.75/2 coupons = subtract $3
Doubled $.75/2 coupons = subtract $3
Total for transactions #1 and #2 = $1.32 or $.66 per transaction

Transaction #3 will look like this:
Buy 6 2pks @ $.83 each = $4.98
Use 3 $.75/2 coupons = subtract $2.25
Doubled $.75/2 coupons = subtract $2.25
Total for transaction #3 = $.48

Total for all three transactions and 22 2pks of baby food = $1.80

Check out this deal on Gerber 2nd purees at Weis this week:

Gerber Selected 2nd Foods 7 oz. Twin Packs – 12 for $10
Get a $5 coupon off your next visit wyb $20.

I actually went to Ebay and bought coupons for this deal. Here is how it will work out:

Buy 24 Gerber 2nd Foods 7 oz. Twin Packs = $20
Use (12) $0.75/2 coupons from RP 11/14 (which will double to $1.50) = -$18
Subtotal = $2
Earn $5 coupon for your next visit (or the rest of your groceries if you do it in two transactions)
Total oop = $3 Moneymaker, minus the cost of whatever you pay for the coupons!

6 Responses

  1. Do you know if you have to buy all in one transaction? Will they double each coupon? Just wondered if you tried this and how it went. I wasn’t going to do it, but found 9 coupons in our church box. I’d get 24 of them for $1.50, so even though it’s not a moneymaker, it’d still be worth it. Either I find late enough expiration dates, or I donate … or I use as a baby gift. 🙂

  2. Well, I haven’t tried it yet. The Weis closest to me has doubled multiple coupons every time I’ve tried. I am waiting for mine to arrive in the mail. I can let you know how it goes once I try it later this week.

    I just looked and saw that it does have to be in one transaction but unfortunately it also says “limit 1 coupon per transaction.” I don’t know if it’s talking about the coupon that prints or mfr coupons that you bring. I’m still going to try to use all of the coupons.

  3. Hmm… I just found some more of these coupons in the box. I did look at the corporate policy and it says it’s up to each individual store as to how much they double, but they won’t double more than 4 coupons, if they do double. I might buy some of the snacks to get to $10 since I can use them now and have coupons for them too. we’ll see!

  4. I re-read the ad and I think “1 coupon per transaction” means their register coupon for next purchase. I wonder if that means I could do this deal twice??

  5. If you do the deal before me, let me know. I don’t doubt that we will get a good deal. 🙂
    L

  6. […] a previous post, I wrote about the possibilities of buying extremely cheap Gerber baby food this week at Weis. […]

Leave a Reply

