Rethinking Stewardship

Stewardnoun 1. a person who manages another’s property or financial affairs; one who administers anything as the agent of another or others.

One of the principles of Christianity is stewardship, with Christians believing that God is the maker/owner/giver of everything and are therefore responsible to him for how they use what he has given them. I think too often this conversation is related only to finances. Sure, money is really the means by which we often acquire goods. But I think Christians need to also apply the principle of stewardship to how we spend our time and talents.

This weeks’ Rite Aid and CVS deals didn’t really excite me at first glance. And then I read this post and realized there is an opportunity to get free TP and tissues at Rite Aid this week. And, our local homeless shelter considers toilet paper and other paper products a “critical need.” So I went to Rite Aid today.

20 boxes of tissues, 40 rolls of TP, and 6 boxes of clearance pantyliners later, I was driving home thinking about what a good honest way this was to spend my time on a Sunday. I’m not trying to toot my own horn. Instead, I’m demonstrating how becoming more familiar with couponing can become a talent that will allow you to bless other people in new ways. And it just might help you rethink stewardship.

Jesus spent his Sabbath helping and healing people. For him Sabbath meant finding rest in doing God’s work. Today’s trip (on the day most often considered the Sabbath in American Christianity), cost me nothing financially except for gas (details below), but did cost me some time and some of my couponing skills. In return, lots of folks in our town get blessed. Totally worth it to me.

 

Item Cost Coupon Ups
10 4pk of RA brand Toilet Paper @ $1 each $10   $10
20 boxes of RA tissues @ $1 each, $3 UP wyb $10 $20   $20

$6

6 boxes Kotex Lightdays Pantyliners pk of  20 @ .37 each $2.22    
TOTALS $32.22   $36

Total = $3.78 Moneymaker

5 Responses

  1. Great post! …And it matched up nicely with the stewardship sermon series our church is doing!

    Thank you!

  2. I was scrolling through the comments on hip2save and saw the title of this blog post. It caught my eye as a particularly great title. AFTER I clicked on the link, as I waited for my computer to redirect to the page, I realized the title of the post was from the blog “SHARE THE WEALTH.” Hmmm…I know that blog. HA HA HA! Love finding your own blog somewhere else as a surprise! Great job, Leslie!

  3. Just an update — there is now a limit on the tissues. I bought 10 and only got 1 up. I chatted with customer service online and they will issue me 2 more, but they said they imposed a limit after the flyer was printed. So with the 3 extra, I got all 10 boxes for $4.00. Not a bad deal, but not a MM.

  4. Kathy, You are right. I read about this new limit this morning here: http://www.forthemommas.com/drug-store-deals/riteaid/rite-aid-tissue-tp-deal-limit-1. So glad I went yesterday – the shelter will benefit from my early shopping. 🙂

  5. Unfortunately, like many other offers, my Rite Aid was completely out of tp and tissues till I got there Wed. And it seems they only get a truck in once week.

Leave a Reply

