Worth buying more papers

I bought extra papers today and I can’t recall ever doing that.  I figured I could make about $20 at Rite Aid, so that’s why I did it.  Here’s how you can do it too:

Transaction 1:

At Rite Aid, Cover Girl are products are BOGO 50% off and if you spend $30, you get $10 +UP.  So…

I bought 8 items (4 @ $5.99, 2 @ $3.39, and 2 $5.19) to total over a little over $32.00  (I assumed the lowest 4 would be 1/2 off, but it actually matched the prices and gave me 1/2 off of 2 of the $5.99, 1 @ 3.39 and 1 @5.19 and in reality, I paid only $30.82, but it still allowed me to use the $32 in coupons… this was not my intention and may not work for you.)

I used 4 of the $8/2 coupons from today’s paper and paid a few pennies (I bought other things and used other +UP which is why I guess it allowed the overage).  I then got $10. +UP.  (Keep this receipt and try to spend $20 more this month and submit for $10 gift card when you buy $50 worth of select items — separate transactions okay — through P&G Think Pink campaign).

Transaction 2:

Buy Prevacid 24 hr, 28 caplets @ 21.99.
Use Rite Aid October Video Value$4. coupon for Prevacid.
Use Printable $4 coupon for Prevacid (at their website).
Use $10 +UP from first transaction.
Pay $3.99 in cash.
Get $10 +UP (for spending $20 on select Maalox items).
Submit receipt to Prevacid using their rebate form on their website to get $17.99 back (price of the product minus the $4.00 printable coupon).

Now… you can stop there, having made back your money+ with the rebate (including the extra price of the newspapers) or you can keep going…

Transaction 3:

Buy Crest toothpaste or toothbrush with the Single Check Rebate (on the back of the ad) – $2.59
Use $1.00 coupon in 10/2 P&G
Buy Oral B powered toothbrush (page 8 of the ad) with the Single check rebate – $5.99
Use $3.00 coupon in the 10/2 P&G
Buy Pert – $3
Use the $1.00 coupon in the Smart Source
Buy other things to get to add $3.42 to your total (suggestions include No-nonsense nylons ($2.99; use $1 VV coupon & receive $2 +UP) OR Gillette Body Wash/Deodorant (2 for $8; sse (2) $2 coupons from P&G and get $2 +UP on 2) OR Scope mouthwash ($4 -use $1.50 coupon in P&G and get $2.50 +UP)…

Pay close to nothing..

PLUS get extra +UP …
PLUS get $1.60 SCR on Crest
PLUS get $3 SCR on Oral-B toothbrush

Total OOP should be about less than $5, depending on what you buy (plus the cost of your extra newspapers — I bought mine at the Dollar Tree for $1)
Leave with several +UP
Get $22.59 in cash from 2 SCR and Prevacid rebates
Plus I plan on spending the extra $20 to mail in the P&G rebate by the end of the month and get $10 rebate back.. hopefully using more coupons, of course!

Check out Hip2Save’s Rite Aid post for the links and the details to these ads and rebates.
**Please Note:  I have not mailed in my Prevacid Rebate, so I can only hope that I will get it… but I have followed all of the instructions! 
*Please ALSO Note:  You will want to do the Cover Girl and Prevacid deals on separate transactions if you plan on mailing in the rebate as you need the original receipt for both.

Leave a Reply

